Academic Leadership

The president, Dr. Lynne Murray, provides oversight of all University academic affairs, and Dr. Brian Posler serves as chief academic officer and manages the academic operations of the University. The University is composed of four academic units administered by four deans who operate as partners in matters that concern the University.

  • Dr. Brian Posler, Provost, Dean of the School of Professional & Graduate Studies
  • Dr. Bernadette M. Fetterolf, Dean of the School of Nursing
  • Dr. Tes Mehring, Dean of the School of Education

Associate and assistant deans support the academic units:

  • Dr. Carol Moore, Associate Dean of the School of Nursing
  • Martha Harris, Assistant Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences
  • Dr. Judy Smrha, Assistant Dean for Student Engagement & Success, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Dr. Jacob Bucher, Associate Dean of the School of Professional & Graduate Studies

The academic legislative structure of the University is governed by the University Constitution, which stipulates the governing bodies and their responsibilities for each of the four academic units. Each school or college has a primary governing body with associated standing committees. The governing bodies for CAS, SON and SPGS are faculty senates. SOE refers to its governing body as the Professional Education Council.

The process for academic legislation is consistent throughout the four schools. Standing committees make recommendations regarding curriculum and academic policy changes to their appropriate governing bodies. The faculty senates and Professional Education Council forward recommendations regarding new programs, admission or graduation requirements, constitutional amendments and catalog or faculty handbook changes to the University Academic Council (UAC). The UAC consists of the deans of the four schools and faculty representatives from each school. Following approval by the UAC, recommendations are then forwarded to the Board of Trustees for final approval.