News >

April 23, 2009
Contact: Steve Rottinghaus, Baker University public relations director, (785) 594-8330 or This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

Baker Orange receives All-Kansas award; Web site honored as online gold medalist

Baldwin City, Kan. — The Baker Orange received the All-Kansas Award for four-year private college newspapers on April 19-20 at the Kansas Associated Collegiate Press spring conference in Hutchinson.

It marked the 10th time in the past 12 years that the Orange had won the top honor. Gwyn Mellinger and Dave Bostwick serve as faculty advisers to the student-run newspaper.

Orange editor Sharon Stauffer, Frankfort, was awarded first runner-up in the Journalist of the Year contest.

The Baker Orange recorded 10 first-place honors.

Competing in a division open to all state colleges and universities, was one of three schools to receive enough judges’ points to be named an online gold medalist. In the online multimedia storytelling category, open to all colleges and universities, Baker students swept the top three spots out of 27 total entries with Courtney Servaes, Atchison, earning first. Chansi Long, Sedan, and Chris Smith, Overland Park, teamed up for second-place honor. A group project by Servaes, Smith and Zack Rockey, Udall, placed third.

During an on-site competition open to all four-year college students, Stauffer placed second in copy editing. Servaes and Lauren Anderson, Gardner, both received honorable mention.

Following are individual results for Baker in the private college division. The competition included entries from March 2008 to February 2009. Students were allowed to enter more than one work sample in each category, and each school was limited to five entries per category.

Column writing

Second — Amanda Pratt, Wellington; third — Chelsea Twietmeyer, Cheney; honorable mention — Chansi Long, Sedan.


First – Courtney Servaes, Atchison; second — Emily Hink, Shawnee, and Ashley Fischer, Hiawatha; honorable mention — Servaes.


Honorable mention — Cate Richards, Baldwin City

Headline writing

First —Lauren Anderson; second –Servaes; third — Fischer and Servaes

Feature writing

First – Kris McDonald, Tulsa, Okla; third — Jenalea Myers, Cummings

Feature photography

First – Fischer; honorable mention — Fischer

Series writing

Second – Baker Orange staff; honorable mention —Long

Single ad design

Second —Amanda Helm, Baldwin City; honorable mention — Helm

Photo essay

Second – Emily Hink, Shawnee; honorable mention — Hink

Sports column

First – Smith; second — Smith

Sports feature writing

First – Helm and Fischer; third – Kelsey Epperson, Eudora; honorable mention — Smith

Sports photography

Second – Hink; third —Hink

Front page design

First – Servaes; honorable mention — Courtney Servaes

Sports news writing

First –Smith; third –Smith

News writing

First – Kyle Davis, Topeka, and Long; honorable mention — Stauffer

Interior page design

First – Lauren Anderson


Baker University is committed to assuring student learning, and developing confident, competent and responsible contributors to society.