News >


April 20, 2011

Contact: Steve Rottinghaus, Baker University public relations director, (785) 594-8330 or This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

 Baker University student newspaper, online site receive top honors

Kyle-DavisBaldwin City, Kan. — The Baker Orange, the student newspaper at Baker University, and its online site received top honors at the Kansas Associated Collegiate Press’ annual conference April 17-18 in Hutchinson. All-Kansas-Baker-Orange-newspaper-division

The Orange received the KACP’s All-Kansas Award for four-year, private-college newspapers and won the All-Kansas Award for all four-year newspaper websites. All-Kansas recipients earn the highest point total in their competitions. This was the 12th time the Orange has received the All-Kansas newspaper award since 1998.

 In addition, Kyle Davis, Topeka senior, was named Journalist of the Year in the four-year newspaper competition. Davis is editor in chief of the Orange and

 Members of the Orange and online staffs also won 26 awards in individual competitions, including eight first-place awards.

 A week earlier the Orange and won several awards in the Society of Professional Journalists’ Mark of Excellence contest for Region 7, which is open to student publications in Kansas, Missouri, Iowa and Nebraska. The SPJ awards were announced April 9 in Overland Park.   All-Kansas-Baker-Orange

The Orange placed third in the Best All-Around Newspaper competition for non-daily newspapers, while placed second for Best Affiliated Online Site. Students also won awards for online feature reporting.  

In March, won first place for online slide shows in the Apple Awards, a best-of-show competition at the College Media Advisers conference in New York.  

Gwyn Mellinger and Dave Bostwick co-advise the Orange and  

Individual award winners follow. Unless designated otherwise, awards are from the KACP contest.  


Lauren Anderson, Gardner:

First place: front page design


Rachel Dannen, Overland Park:

Honorable mention: news photography  


Kyle Davis, Topeka:

First place: sports feature writing, editorial writing, sports column writing, interior page design

Second place: sports feature writing, sports column writing, interior page design, copy editing

Honorable mention: news writing, front page design  


Jordan Dolbin, La Mirada, Calif.:

Second place: multimedia storytelling

Honorable mention: feature photography  


Christopher Duderstadt, Overland Park:

Honorable mention: sports feature writing, sports column writing  


Rachel Hawkins, Lenexa:

First place: interior page design

Second place: photo essay

Third place: editorial writing

Honorable mention: front page design, photo essay  


Amanda Helm, Baldwin City:

First place: sports feature writing

Honorable mention: column writing  


Patrick Howell, Overland Park:

First place: feature photography, photo essay

Second place: photo essay, multimedia storytelling  


Marlee Johnson, Olathe:

Third place: online feature reporting (SPJ)  


Dounpen Mary Loveland, Wichita:

Third place: online feature reporting (SPJ)  


Tera Lyons, Strasburg, Colo.:

First place: multimedia storytelling

Second place: online feature reporting (SPJ)  


Reina Murphy, Schenectady, N.Y.:

Honorable mention: photo essay  


Megan Perry, Spring Hill:

Second place: single ad design

Honorable mention: single ad design  


Meagan Thomas, Florissant, Colo.:

Honorable mention: copy editing  


Third place: online feature reporting (SPJ)