News >

Tuesday,  Nov. 15, 2011
Contact: Steve Rottinghaus, Baker University public relations director, (785) 594-8330 or This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

 81st Annual Candlelight Vespers set for Dec. 4

Baldwin City, Kan. — Baker University’s Department of Music will present the 81st Annual Christmas Candlelight Vespers at 4 p.m. and 7:30 p.m. on Sunday, Dec. 4, at First Untied Methodist Church, Eighth and Grove streets. Admission is free.

The program will include performances by the Baker Concert Choir, Baker Chamber Choir, Baker Orchestra, Baker Percussion Ensemble, Baker Brass Ensemble, Baker Speech Choir, Little Big Band Jazz Ensemble, Buel A. Hill Quartet and University Community Choir.Vespers09_-137

The "Sounds of the Season," composed by Mark Hayes will make its world premiere during the program. The Kansas City (Mo.) composer is well known for his unique choral settings which draw from diverse styles such as gospel, jazz, pop, folk, and classical to achieve a truly "American sound." A generous donation by Susanne Teel, a member of Baker's Board of Trustees, commissioned the work for Vespers.

Matthew Potterton, the Vespers director, will conduct the choruses. Other conductors are Lori McKinney, orchestra; and Steve Riley, percussion ensemble. Directors are J.D. Parr, jazz ensemble; Erinn Renyer, Buel A. Hill Quartet; and Susan Redding Emel, Speech Choir. Nanette Kraus will serve as the accompanist and Kelley Bethell-Smith will be the choreographer for a South African piece titled "Babethandaza."

Concert choir

Ryan Bearrick, Connor Bechard, Gregory Bradford, Morgan Brown, Shawn Deegan, Sara Dominguez, Kelli Doolittle, Lauren Dunkak, Nathan Eacker, Aubrey Eicher, Michael Hanman, Stephanie Haug, Brittany Hines, Marlee Johnson, Patrick King, Rachel Knight, Brian Lamoreaux, Timothy Laughlin, Sarah Melton, Sophia Newman, Kat Niehues, Kayla Oelschlaeger, Shannon O’Shea, Amy Pittman, Phillip Roach, Parker Roth, Brittni Sayers, Aaron Schopper, Rachael Schulte, Anna Stramel, Krystina Townsend, Sean Webb, Cassandra Wells, Billy Wicks, Ariel Williams, Lauren Wiseman  

Chamber Choir

Christina Cowart, Lauren Dunkak, Paul Eltschinger, Brandon Haefke, Scott Ireland, Jillian Miller, Kyle Richardson, Margo Rodewald, Ali Watson, Courtney West

Percussion Ensemble

Mariah Barnett, Greg Henning, Brittany Hines, Scott Ireland, Brian Lamoreaux, Zach McElmurry, John Robbs, Rachel VanWinkle  

Baker University Orchestra

Violins: Stephanie Colwell, Shannon O’Shea, Chelsea Pennock, Betsy Siess, Marshall Sumwalt, Erin Wilson, Rachel VanWinkle,  Matthew Bennettt, Kelly Bohling

Viola: Wolfang Johanning, Xiomara Nunez

Cello: Mariah Barnett, Kathryn Boyer, Kelli Gammel, Brittany Gapter, Ulrich Johanning

String bass: Kyle Detrich, Matthew Fry, Alex Ryan  

Brass Ensemble

Trumpet: Kaleb Berry, Michael Edwards, Andy Kelley, William Schowalter

French horn: Jacob Mogle, Sophia Newman, John Robbs

Trombone: Ryan Hodges, Micheal Sturm

Euphonium: Ryan Bearrick, Jacob Neiman

Tuba: Alex Ryan  

Speech Choir

Carly Berblinger, Bryce Bowers, Kacee Britton, Shavon Brown, Sam Moon, Teresa Morse, Rebecca Nolte, Aaron Schopper, Warren Swenson  

Little Big Band Jazz Ensemble

Alto sax: Brian Lamoreux

Tenor sax: Katie Butler

Baritone sax: Robert Woodall

Trombone: Michael Sturm

Trumpet: William Schowalter, Andy Kelley

Bass: Alex Ryan

Drums: Greg Henning

Percussion: John Robbs

Piano: Scott Ireland

Guitar: Daniel Gomez  

Buel A. Hill Quartet

First violin: Rachel VanWinkle

Second violin: Erin Wilson

Viola: Wolfgang Johanning

Cello: Mariah Barnett  

University Community Choir

JaNay Adgers, Kay Bailey, Mariah Barnett, Kelley Bethell-Smith, Stephanie Berg, Jan Boyd, Jill Brungardt, Emily Buehler, Julie Buttenhoff, Kendra Clark, Julie Craig, Robert Craig, Daniel Davis, Carol Dickson, Sara Dominguez, Paula Donohue, Kathryn Duggan, William Duncan, Aubrey Eicher, Jan Elder, Shaley Epperson, Shayla Farley, Carol Fleming, Ruth Fleming, Sylvia Forbes, Mike Gammage, Susan Gammage, TerriLois Gregory, Stephanie Haug, Kendra Hedges, Becky Henderson, Lindsay Hill, Lew Hinshaw, Scott Ireland, Jamika Jackson, Saunder, James, Wolfgang Johanning, Eli Jones, Etha Johnson, Yuwiyl Johnson, Tobias Jones, Dave Killingsworth, Lynn Killngsworth, Sara Kyte, Ted Marsh, Daniel McKinney, Lori McKinney, Amanda Meyer, Peri Montgomery, Mary Moore, Laura Morford, Megan Nelson, Rebecca Nolte, Rose O’Dea, Tim Obiefule, Samantha Oehlert, Constance Paramore, Kimberly Patton, Amy Pittman, Michel Prahl, Scharole Prahl, Brittany Reed, Phillip Roach, Margo Rodewald, Bailey Stines, Margaret Thyr, Krystyna VanDriel, Grace Vaughn, Candy Wasser, Katie Wasser, Allyson White, George Wiley

Baker University is committed to assuring student learning, and developing confident, competent and responsible contributors to society.