News >

May 8, 2012
Contact: Steve Rottinghaus, Baker University public relations director, (785) 594-8330 or This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

Baker’s Wall of Honor to induct four

Baldwin City, Kan. — Four Baker University School of Education alumni — Chris Crawford, Lachelle Sigg, Pam Tate and Mike Wolgast — will be inducted into Baker’s Wall of Honor on Saturday, May 19, during the alumni luncheon at Harter Union.Wall-of-Honor1

The Wall of Honor recognizes Baker alumni who have excelled in the education profession and have made a difference in the lives of students through their work as teachers, administrators, coaches or school activity sponsors. Educators recognized have completed an undergraduate or graduate education program at Baker University and been recognized for their work at the state or national level.

Crawford, instructor in the Blue Valley Center for Advanced Professional Studies, was a Kansas Horizon Award winner in 2011 as an outstanding first-year teacher. Crawford received a restricted licensure from Baker in 2012.

Sigg, former principal at Pioneer Ridge Middle School in Gardner, received the Kansas Administrators of Middle Schools Association 2010-2011 Exemplary Middle School Principal of the Year honor. She received her building licensure in 2006 from Baker and is the director of human resources for the DeSoto (Kan.) School District.

Tate, principal at Gardner Elementary School, received the Kansas Association of Elementary School Principals 2012 Kansas Distinguished Principal of the Year honor and the Kansas Association of Secondary School Principals 2005 District 1 Assistant Principal of the Year honor. She received a Master of Arts in School Leadership from Baker in 2001.

Wolgast, principal at Pioneer Trail Middle School in Olathe, was the Kansas Administrators of Middle Schools Association 2011-2012 Exemplary Middle School Principal of the Year. He received a Doctor of Education in Educational Leadership from Baker in 2008.

The Wall of Honor was established in 2006 and is housed in Case Hall on the Baldwin City campus.

Baker University is committed to assuring student learning, and developing confident, competent and responsible contributors to society.