News >

Dec. 6, 2012
Contact: Steve Rottinghaus, Baker University public relations director, (785) 594-8330 or This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

School of Nursing students inducted into honor society

Topeka, Kan. — The Eta Kappa Chapter-at-Large of Sigma Theta Tau, the international honor society for nursing, recently inducted 16 Baker University School of Nursing students and two Baker alumni during a ceremony at the Pozez Education Center.

Students inducted were Courtney Barger, Jennifer Brownell, Hayley Davidson, Lindsay Deaton, Jessica Emory, Becky Gillgannon, Adriana Lozano, Ashley Lund, Haley Malone, Courtney Murphy, Susan Ngibuini, Crystal Shanks, Hayley Sheetz, Emily Simms, Ashley Stallbaumer and Danielle Winkler. Gillgannon also was the recipient of the Baker School of Nursing scholarship.

Alumni inducted were Phil Smetak, Class of 2008, and Kyle Smith, Class of 2011.

Undergraduate students must have a 3.0 grade-point average and rank in the top 35 percent of their class to qualify for membership.

Baker University is committed to assuring student learning and developing confident, competent and responsible contributors to society.