News >

April 25, 2013
Contact: Steve Rottinghaus, Baker University public relations director, (785) 594-8330 or This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

Posler selected for national leadership development program

Baldwin City, Kan. – Baker University is pleased to announce that Dr. Brian Posler, executive vice president of academic affairs and dean of the College of Arts and Sciences, is one of 21 senior-level administrators in higher education nationwide selected by the Council of Independent Colleges (CIC) and the American Academic Leadership Institute (AALI) to participate in a year-long Executive Leadership Academy.Brian-Poslerforweb

Individuals chosen for the program are vice presidents or cabinet officers in higher education who aspire to the presidency of an independent college or university. Posler will participate in two seminars, ongoing webinars, and a mentoring program. In addition, he will develop an experiential learning plan focused on specific areas of presidential responsibility and complete a series of readings and case studies.

The purpose of the Academy is to prepare provosts and vice presidents to serve as effective college presidents. "Competition for the available places in the program was intense," said CIC President Richard Ekman. "The review committee found the nomination materials to be most impressive. They — and I — believe that Dr. Posler has the potential for highly effective leadership as a college or university president."

Before joining Baker on July 1, 2012, Posler served as associate provost for academic affairs at the University of Southern Indiana. He previously was the associate provost for academic affairs at Southern Indiana and was the assistant provost for undergraduate studies at the Evansville, Ind., university from 2006 to 2011.

Posler received his Bachelor of Arts degree with distinction from Cornell College in Mt. Vernon, Iowa, majoring in politics and American history. He earned his master's and doctorate in political science from Rice University.

Since the program began in the 2009–2010 academic year, several vice presidents have become presidents. "These early indicators suggest that CIC is helping to meet the leadership needs of higher education by offering highly effective leadership development programs for modest fees to member institutions," Ekman said.

For more information about the Executive Leadership Academy, visit

CIC Executive Leadership Aacademy Participants 2013–2014

Philip Acree Cavalier, Eureka College (IL)
Neil S. Braun, Pace University (NY)
Seamus Carey, Sacred Heart University (CT)
Deborah Carlson, Nebraska Methodist College (NE)
Christine De Vinne, Notre Dame of Maryland University (MD)
Marshall Eidson, University of the Incarnate Word (TX)
Tracy Espy, Pfeiffer University (NC)
Jay Fostner, St. Norbert College (WI)
Stuart Jones, Averett University (VA)
Robert Mc Caig, Monmouth University (NJ)
Michael McDonald, Kalamazoo College (MI)
Josephine Modica-Napolitano, Merrimack College (MA)
Kim Mooney, Franklin Pierce University (NH)
Tiffany Nolan, Quincy University (IL)
Edward Ogle, Marian University (WI)
Nicholas Piccolo, Alma College (MI)
David Podell, Marymount Manhattan College (NY)
Brian Posler, Baker University (KS)
David Rehm, Mount St. Mary's University (MD)
Cynthia Sellers, Tuskegee University (AL)
Michael Stanton, Nichols College (MA)


Baker University is committed to assuring student learning, and developing confident, competent and responsible contributors to society.