News >

March 25, 2014
Contact: Steve Rottinghaus, Baker University public relations director, (785) 594-8330 or This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

Kansas Association of Broadcasters honors KNBU-FM, KNBU-TV

Baldwin City, Kan. — Baker University's student-led radio and television stations KNBU-FM and KNBU- TV received six awards from the 2013 Kansas Association of Broadcasters in the annual student broadcast awards competition.

The awards will be presented April 1 at the Bicentennial Center in Salina, Kan., and the students will be recognized April 26 at the honors symposium at Baker.

"I am incredibly proud our talented Baker students in our mass media program continue to shine competing against universities and colleges of all sizes," said Joe Watson, associate professor of mass media and adviser to KNBU-FM and KNBU-TV.

Here are the Baker award winners:

Radio Enterprise News Package: EJ Carter, St. Louis, "Gathright Chooses Gessner," second place

Radio Sports Play-by-Play: Brad Barnes, Gardner, Kan., "Baker vs. Evangel," second place

Radio Dee Jay Personality: Jordan Honore, Stafford, Texas, second place

Television Complete Taped Newscast: KNBU-TV Staff, "Wildcat Watch," second place

Television Complete Sports Feature: Brad Barnes, "Baker Wrestling Places at Nationals," second place

Radio Sports Play-by-Play: Sean Webb, Wamego, Kan., "Baker vs. Central Methodist," honorable mention.

Barnes, a 2013 graduate, is the sports director for KFNF radio in Oberlin, Kan.

Baker University is committed to assuring student learning, and developing confident, competent and responsible contributors to society.