News (68)

Thursday, 05 March 2015 00:00

Junior named Student Leader of the Month

Written by

Lauren Allen BrownforwebLauren Allen-Brown, a junior from Kansas City, Mo., was named the Baker University Student Leader of the Month for February.

Peter MorelloforwebPeter Morello, a student in Baker University’s Doctor of Education in Leadership in Higher Education program, has been selected as a Fulbright Scholar by the U.S. Department of State. He will work with journalists in Swaziland, a sovereign state in Southern Africa, and teach at the University of Swaziland.

Wednesday, 04 March 2015 00:00

Mungano members develop leadership skills

Written by

Lauren Allen BrownforwebSix members of Mungano, Baker University’s longtime student-run diversity organization, joined more than 600 other elite student leaders last week at the Big XII Conference on Black Student Government in Stillwater, Okla.

Thursday, 26 February 2015 00:00

Theater production to open on March 5

Written by

Baker University’s next student theater production, the musical “Working” from the book by Studs Terkel and adapted by Stephen Schwartz and Nina Faso, will open on March 5 at Rice Auditorium on the Baldwin City campus. Performance times are 7:30 p.m., March 5-7, and 2 p.m., Sunday, March 8. Admission is free.

Tree Campus USAforwebThe Arbor Day Foundation has announced that Baker University is a Tree Campus USA this year for its commitment to promoting healthy trees and engaging students and staff in the spirit of conservation. The first university in Kansas to be recognized with the distinction, Baker has been honored five consecutive years by the foundation.

Tuesday, 24 February 2015 00:00

Students participate in Emerging Leaders Summit

Written by

Emerging LeadersTwenty-eight freshmen and seven student facilitators participated during the weekend in Baker University’s annual Emerging Leaders Summit at Camp Chippewa in Ottawa, Kan.

Tuesday, 24 February 2015 00:00

Seniors named Teachers of Promise

Written by

Teachers of PromiseforwebBaker University seniors Samantha Wright, Baldwin City, Kan., and Hannah Geenens, Stilwell, Kan., were recognized as Teachers of Promise during the Kansas Exemplary Educators Network awards reception on Friday, Feb. 20, in Topeka.

Carley Bforweb

Carly Berblinger, a senior sociology and English major from Buhler, Kan., has had poetry accepted by the national editorial staff of The Rectangle, a creative writing magazine published annually by Sigma Tau Delta, the international undergraduate honor society for English.

Feb. 19, 2015
Contact: Steve Rottinghaus, Baker University public relations director, (785) 594-8330, This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Baldwin City, Kan. — Eighty-one Baker University students have been recognized by Who's Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges for 2014.Baker arch1

The students were honored for their grade-point average, campus involvement and leadership as well as personification of Baker's mission and vision.

Here are the Baker students recognized:

Ryan Akin, Sedalia, Mo.; Jacqueline Albin, Wakeeney, Kan.; Zach Aldrich, Topeka, Kan.; Morgan Banning, Lawrence, Kan. Taylor Baum, Overland Park, Kan.; Kelli Bauman, Sabetha, Kan. Kimberly Beauchamp, Pomona, Kan.; Olivia Beins, Baldwin City, Kan.; Preston Beiser, Leawood, Kan.; Carly Berblinger, Buhler, Kan.; Courtney Boedeker, Lee's Summit, Mo.; Shannon Bond, Olathe, Kan.; Callie Brabender, Lawrence, Kan.; Kacee Britton, Sterling, Kan.; Laura Bynum, Kansas City, Kan.; Danielle Carlson, Olathe, Kan.; Clinton Chapman, Baldwin City, Kan.; Taylor Chase, Littleton, Kan.; Cooper Clark, Haysville, Kan.; Megan Clark, Holton, Kan.; Tanner Clark, Holton, Kan.; Amanda Conrade, Topeka, Kan.; Michelle Critchfield, Hesston, Kan.; Andrew Dare, Olathe, Kan.; Allison Davis, Waukee, Iowa; Adriane Dick, Lawrence, Kan.; Abbey Elsbernd, Andover, Kan.; Danielle French, Overland Park, Kan.; Aaron Greenbaum, Prairie Village, Kan.; Brandon Haefke, Holton, Kan.; Rachel Haley, Lawrence, Kan.; Ethan Hays, Smithville, Kan.; Gunnar Hays, Prairie View, Kan.; Aaron Howard, Raymore, Mo.; Eero Johnson, Olathe, Kan.; Lesley Johnson, Shawnee, Kan.; Sydney Johnston, Overland Park, Kan.; Hannah Jordan, Leavenworth, Kan.; Melissa Kinzer, Olathe, Kan.; Sarah Lambert, Belton, Mo.; Michael Lisher, Lawrence, Kan.; Emily Liston, Overland Park, Kan.; Lindsey Mateer, Spring Hill, Kan.; Jordan Miller, Lee's Summit, Mo.; Natalie Minchow, South Bend, Neb.; Jacob Mogle, Columbus, Kan.; Jamison Montes de Oca, Lawrence, Kan.; Andrew Morgan, Baldwin City, Kan.; Hayley Morrical, Lindsborg, Kan.; Sarah Mullins, Atchison, Kan.;

Mallorie Nelson, Paola, Kan.; Katelyn Palmer, Oakland, Iowa; Chad Phillips, Wichita, Kan.; Andrew Poindexter, Raymore, Mo.; Megan Pontius, Overland Park, Kan.; Jordan Queen, Derby, Kan.; Darrell Randall, Overland Park, Kan.; John Robbs, Baldwin City, Kan.; MacKenzie Sammons, Wellsville, Kan.; Richard Schacher, Harrisonville, Kan.; Samantha Schroeder, Olathe, Kan.; Caylea Siler, Bonner Springs, Kan.; Ericka Simpson, Spring Hill, Kan.; Lynae Soderholm, Alma, Neb.; Benjamin Sobek, Olathe, Kan.; Steven Stendebach, Olathe, Kan.; Mallory Stewart, Lawrence, Kan.; Kaitlyn Stout, Olathe, Kan.; Collin Studer, Wathena, Kan.; Katherine Stueve, Gardner, Kan.; Daniel Sumler, Anderson, Mo.; Emma Tinsley, Shawnee, Kan.; Dustin Turner, Overbrook, Kan.; Gavin Webster, Independence, Kan.; Madison Wendt, Chanute, Kan.; Jess Westmoreland, Hutchinson, Kan.; Audrey Willis, Olathe, Kan.; Jessie Wilson, Independence, Kan.; Taylor Winkler, Overland Park, Kan.; Heather Wright, Independence, Kan.; and
Hillary Yoder, Lawrence, Kan.


Baker University is committed to assuring student learning, and developing confident, competent and responsible contributors to society.

Feb. 18, 2015
Contact: Steve Rottinghaus, Baker University public relations director, (785) 594-8330 or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Baldwin City, Kan. — Nine musicians from the Baker University Symphonic Winds will perform with the Kansas Intercollegiate Band at the annual Kansas Music Educators Association In-Service Workshop Friday, Feb. 27, at Century II Convention Center in Wichita, Kan.Baker musicians

The following students will represent Baker: Aubrey Eicher, flute, Topeka, Kan.; Lora Finley, alto sax, Altamont, Kan.; Chelsey Mann, clarinet, St. Joseph, Mo.; Jacob Neiman, tuba, Topeka, Kan.; Dante Simmons, trombone, Sublette, Kan.; Steven Stendebach, baritone sax, Olathe, Kan.; Bailey Stines, clarinet, Edgerton, Kan.; Mike Sturm, trombone, Eudora, Kan.; and Ian Calkins, trombone, Shawnee, Kan. They will rehearse with other collegiate musicians from across the state for two days before performing a concert at 2:45 p.m. in the Century II Concert Hall.

As part of the workshop, the Baker University Alumni Office and the Department of Music and Theatre will host an alumni reception from 5 to 6 p.m., Friday, Feb. 27, in Room 101 of Century II. The event will honor Ray James, Baker’s recently retired band director, who is slated to be inducted into the Kansas Music Educators’ Hall of Fame. Gretchen (Buehler) Bixler, a 1991 Baker graduate, will be recognized as a candidate for KMEA President-Elect.

James will be introduced with Arthur Jay Steinberg, the other Class of 2015 KMEA Hall of Fame inductee, at the KMEA Presidents’ Concert at 8 p.m., Thursday, Feb. 26, in the Century II Concert Hall, which will feature a performance by the Boston Brass. His formal induction will be held at 10 a.m., Feb. 28, at the in the Mary Jane Teal Theater. For more information about the conference, go to

Baker University is committed to assuring student learning, and developing confident, competent and responsible contributors to society.

Page 1 of 5