September 29, 2005
Contact: Steve Rottinghaus, Baker University director of public relations (785) 594-8330

Baldwin City, Kan. — Baker University has selected its presidential search committee to find a replacement for president Daniel Lambert, who announced in May that he would retire at the end of the 2005-2006 school year after 19 years leading the university.

Bob Honse, member, Board of Trustees, is chair of the presidential search committee. Other committee members are Walt Bailey, professor of art; Dr. Betty Barker Bashaw, former Baker University Trustee; Mary Kay Brooks, president of Baker’s alumni association; Brooke Brutto, student and secretary of Student Senate; Don Clardy, executive vice president and dean of the School of Professional and Graduate Studies; Susan Gandhi, member, Board of Trustees; Dr. Kathleen Harr, vice president and dean of Baker’s School of Nursing; Martha Harris, professor of business and economics; the Rev. Scott Jones, bishop of the Kansas Area of the United Methodist Church; J.J. Lanning, Baker alumnus and member, Board of Trustees; Darcy Russell, professor of biology and division director of science and technology; Charlie Sunderland, former member, Board of Trustees; Edrie Swanson, executive secretary to the search committee.

Academic Search Consultation Service, based in Washington D.C.,  will assist the committee in its search for a new president. It has worked with more than 500 colleges and universities in searches for presidents and senior academic leaders. Harold Kolenbrander, former president at Mount Union College, a private liberal arts college in Alliance, Ohio, is Academic Search’s consultant assigned to assist Baker.

The search committee will have its first meeting on Monday. The committee hopes to have a recommendation to the Board of Trustees no later than May 1, 2006.