May 22, 2006
Contact: Steve Rottinghaus, Baker University public relations director, (785) 594-8330 or  This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Baldwin City, Kan. — Ryan Beasley, associate professor of political science at Baker University, has been named 2006 recipient of the Jennie Howell Kopke and Verda R. Kopke Award for Distinguished Teaching.

The Kopke Award recognizes a Baker faculty member, without regard to rank or years of service, with a $5,000 cash award. The criteria are excellence in teaching; a record of transforming students into scholars; bringing honor to the University; and good moral character.

In 1998, Charles Kopke established an endowment to honor teaching excellence. Kopke, a former member of the Board of Trustees and friend of the University, created the award to honor his mother, Jennie Howell, and his wife, Verda.

Previous award winners are Karen Exon (1998), Anthony Brown (1999), Lee Green (2000), Rand Ziegler (2001), Inge Balch (2002), Darcy Russell (2003), Tracy Floreani (2004) and John Richards (2005).