March 5, 2008
Contact: Steve Rottinghaus, Baker University public relations director, (785) 594-8330 or  This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Green Bay Packers coach Mike McCarthy, a 1987 Baker University graduate, will be honored as the NFC Coach of the Year on Saturday during the 38th annual NFL 101 Awards gala at Westin Crown Center in Kansas City, Mo.

In his second season as an NFL head coach, McCarthy guided the Packers to a 13-3 record and a spot in the NFC Championship game.

Other award winners are New England quarterback Tom Brady, AFC Offensive Player of the Year; New England coach Bill Belichick, AFC Coach of the Year; Green Bay quarterback Brett Favre, NFC Offensive Player of the Year; Indianapolis safety Bob Sanders, AFC Defensive Player of the Year; and Seattle defensive end Patrick Kerney, NFC Defensive Player of the Year.

A national media committee, comprised of 101 sportswriters and broadcasters who cover the NFL, selected the winners in each award category in a nationwide vote at the conclusion of the regular season.