The official site for Baker University Athletics

2015-16 Conference Champs

MSoccer | Football | MIndoor Track

Tuesday, 25 January 2011 11:23


1.25.11 | Football

Wildcats tie for first nationally with eight Daktronics-NAIA Scholar-Athletes

Football Helmet

BALDWIN CITY, Kan. – Eight Baker University football players have been named 2010 Daktronics-NAIA Scholar-Athletes, as announced by the national office. Baker tied for first nationally for the second consecutive season with Cumberlands University (Tenn.), Carroll College (Mont.) and Central Methodist University. There were 231 total football student-athletes named to the list.

In order to be nominated by an institution’s head coach, a student-athlete must maintain a minimum grade point average of 3.5 on a 4.0 scale and must have achieved a junior academic status to qualify for this honor.

“We take great pride in our players excellence in the classroom,” said head football coach Mike Grossner. “Kudos to our academic support system we have in place for our student-athletes.”

This wasn’t the only academic honor the BU football team can hang its hat on.  21 football players were also named to the Baker Dean’s List in the fall semester. In order to qualify, a student must have a 3.5 GPA or better.

2010 Daktronics-NAIA Scholar-Athletes
Matt Brock (Holton, Kan.)
Garrett Chumley (Tonganoxie, Kan.)
Austin DeGraeve (De Soto, Kan.)
Jesse Green (Baldwin City, Kan.)
Caleb Johnson (Blue Springs, Mo.)
Joel Murphy (St. Louis, Mo.)
Billy Chambers (LaCygne, Kan.)
John Babb (Topeka, Kan.)

2010 Fall Semester Dean’s List
Sam Beecher (Baldwin City, Kan.)
Matt Brock (Holton, Kan.)
Kevin Campano (San Diego, Calif.)
Billy Chambers (LaCygne, Kan.)
Austin DeGraeve (DeSoto, Kan.)
Terry Harvey (Kansas City, Mo.)
Dustin King (Overland Park, Kan.)
Jeremiah Korn (Tucson, Ariz.)
Reno Marical (Tuttle, Okla.)
Jake Morse (Lenexa, Kan.)
Joel Murphy (St. Louis, Mo.)
Dominic Reiske (Lawrence, Kan.)
Lucas Roepke (Waterville, Kan.)
Adam Steele (Overland Park, Kan.)
Connor Stremel (Lawrence, Kan.)
Andrew Taliaferro (Berryton, Kan.)
Stephen Underwood (Lenexa, Kan.)
Sam Vossen (Tecumseh, Kan.)
Hakeem Young (Spring Hill, Kan.)

Baker University Athletics | PO box 65 | Baldwin City, Kan., 66006 |