Office of Student Affairs

  • Contact or Visit Us
  • Cassy Bailey, Dean of Students
  • 785.594.8431
  • fax: 785.594.4568
  • P.O. Box 65
  • Baldwin City, KS 66006-0065
  • Hours
  • Monday-Friday: 8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
  • Second Floor - Harter Union

Student Senate

The Baker University Student Senate represents all undergraduate students on the Baldwin City campus and serves as a liaison between them and the University administration. The senate also strives to provide students with a forum for communication within the student community.

Each class elects five members to the student senate. Senior, junior and sophomore elections are held each spring. Freshmen elections are held shortly after the beginning of the school year. Five executive officers are elected each year.

Apply Online to Campaign for a Student Senate Office

pdfView the Student Senate constitution.

Contact Us

Do you have question for student senate? Suggestion, concern?

Form not found or is not published

Or email us at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


2013-2014 Student Senate Executive Board


Owen Lewis

  • Schedules and oversees senate meetings
  • Serves as chief liaison and advocate of the student body to faculty and administration
  • Attends meetings of the University Board of Trustees, Faculty Senate and Administrative Council
  • Submits annual report on student and campus issues to faculty, administration and students
  • Must have served previously in the Student Senate

Vice President

Rachel Haley

  • Serves in the president’s capacity when the president is unable to do so
  • Serves as parliamentarian of senate
  • Maintains contact with other colleges and universities
  • Oversees delegates to all committees
  • Serves as executive liaison to community

Public Relations

To be determined

  • Keeps calendar of all upcoming events
  • Serves as chair of the public relations standing committee
  • Maintains communication with the student body


Claire White

  • Keeps and makes available records of all senate meetings
  • Keeps minutes and distributes them to the Baker Orange and all interested faculty, staff and senators
  • Keeps attendance records
  • Compiles agenda for all meetings
  • Serves as executive liaison to elections and activities


Alexia Nyoni

  • Establishes budget
  • Keeps accurate records of senate accounts
  • Advises president on all financial matters
  • Ensures that all financial transactions are properly completed
  • Serves as executive liaison to internal affairs

Staff Advisor

Laura Jacob, Grad Assistant for Student Life

2014-2015 Class Officers

Senior Class

President | Kacee Brittion
Vice President | Claire White
Treasurer | Ben Sobek
Secretary | Cali Proctor
Representative | Katie Gerlach
Staff Advisor | Cassy Bailey, Dean of Students 

Sophomore Class

President | Olivia Beins
Vice President | Alexandra Gabarino
Treasurer | Madison Wendt
Secretary | Jim Joyner
Representative | Gavin Webster
Staff Advisor | Teresa Clounch, Associate Dean of Students

Junior Class 

President | Stephanie Skedel
Vice President | Clint Chapman
Treasurer | Robert Hoeven
Secretary | Kayla Paul
Representative | Victoria Bostic
Staff Advisor | Susan Wade, Director of Career Services

Freshman Class

President | TBD
Vice President | TBD 
Treasurer | TBD
Secretary | TBD
Representative | TBD
Staff Advisor | Randy Flowers, Director of Student Life

Meetings & Important Dates | 2013-14

Meetings | Mabee 400 | 8 p.m.

  • September 10
  • September 24
  • October 15
  • October 29
  • November 12
  • November 19
  • February 4
  • February 18
  • March 25
  • April 8
  • April 15
  • April 29

Committee Meetings

  • September 17
  • October 1
  • October 22
  • November 5
  • February 11
  • February 25
  • March 11
  • April 1
  • April 22

Important Dates

  • March 28 – Executive Officer Applications
    Online Applications Due
  • April 1 – Executive Officer Elections (Vote Online)
  • April 2 – Executive Officer Announcements 
  • April 11 – Class Officer Applications
    Online Applications Due
  • April 15 – Class Officer Elections & Announcement (Vote Online)