Baker University student Chad Phillips was recently recognized with the J. Edward Zollinger Outstanding Senior Award at the Sigma Phi Epsilon Carlson Leadership Academy conference for the Midwest region in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma.

“I’m feeling very honored and humbled to receive this award,” Phillips said. “Joining SigEp was the greatest decision of my life, and it’s hard to believe my undergraduate experience will be over in only three months.”

The award recognizes members who have recorded scholastic achievement, community involvement, and leadership within their fraternity and campus community, men who are well-rounded and model excellence. Phillips serves as the president of Sigma Phi Epsilon’s Kansas Alpha chapter at Baker University in addition to serving as the cocaptain of the men’s golf team and a photographer for The Baker Orange student newspaper. Phillips’ leadership experiences also include tenures as a Wildcat Welcome Orientation Leader and a University Admissions Assistant. Phillips is a member of the National Society of Collegiate Scholars and will attend the University of Missouri at Kansas City School of Dentistry in the fall.

“Chad has earned this award through years of hard work for the local chapter and through engagement with the national leadership programs in important areas such as philanthropy, recruitment, member development, and alumni relations,” said Dr. Kevin McCarthy, professor of business and economics and Sigma Phi Epsilon’s Faculty Fellow, who nominated Phillips for the award. “Yes, that’s a tall order to fill, but that’s exactly why he was recognized. I really think Chad immersed himself in the many opportunities a student can discover at Baker.”

Phillips cited McCarthy’s “selfless giving [of] time and energy” and alumnus and Chapter Counselor Tim Laughlin’s encouragement and continuous support of Phillips’ leadership roles as inspirations for his achievement.

Other students from Baker’s SigEp chapter who attended the conference include Nick Delaquila, Ethan Herring, Asaph Jewsome, Jack Mills, Payton Ruder, Clay Sears, and Jordan Wispinski.

Pin It on Pinterest