Two students walking on campus

Residential Campus

Student Senate

The Baker University Student Senate represents all undergraduate students on the Baldwin City campus and serves as a liaison between them and the university administration. The senate also strives to provide students with a forum for communication within the student community


Office of Student Affairs

Kaitlyn Powell

Assistant Director of Student Activities

Long Student Center 205

Your Campus, Your Call

Each class elects five members to the student senate. Senior, junior, and sophomore elections are held each spring. Freshmen elections are held shortly after the beginning of the school year. Five executive officers are elected each year.

Apply to Campaign for a Student Senate Office

Officer & Senate Application

2021-2022 Student Senate Executive Board

Executive President
John Ely

  • Schedules and oversees senate meetings
  • Serves as chief liaison and advocate of the student body to faculty and administration
  • Attends meetings of the University Board of Trustees, Faculty Senate, and Administrative Council
  • Submits annual report on student and campus issues to faculty, administration, and students
  • Must have served previously in the Student Senate

Executive Vice President
Emma Howard

  • Serves in the president’s capacity when the president is unable to do so
  • Serves as parliamentarian of the senate
  • Maintains contact with other colleges and universities
  • Oversees delegates to all committees
  • Serves as executive liaison to community

Executive Secretary
Grace Isakson

  • Keeps and makes available records of all senate meetings
  • Keeps minutes and distributes them to the Baker Orange and all interested faculty, staff, and senators
  • Keeps attendance records
  • Compiles agenda for all meetings
  • Serves as executive liaison to elections and activities

Executive Treasurer
Jackson Stoppel

  • Establishes budget
  • Keeps accurate records of senate accounts
  • Advises the president on all financial matters
  • Ensures that all financial transactions are properly completed
  • Serves as executive liaison to internal affairs

Executive Public Relations
Kinly Grub

  • Keeps calendar of all upcoming events
  • Serves as chair of the public relations standing committee
  • Maintains communication with the student body

2021-2022 Class Officers

Senior Class
President | Lexie Hastie
Senators | Christoper Davies, Isabella Hinck, Jaila Randle, Megan Reynolds

Junior Class
President | Mercedes Ruiz
Senators | Taylor McEachron, Carson Moore, Jordan Smith

Sophomore Class
President | Mason Mecke
Senators | Jacqueline De la Fuente, Taylor Evans, Taylor Nicholson, Peyton Sannan

Freshman Class
Voting will take place in the Fall 2021 semester.