Baldwin City, Kan. — Baker University students Samantha Wright, Baldwin City, Kan., and Hannah Geenens, Stilwell, Kan., are seniors named Teachers of Promise during the Kansas Exemplary Educators Network awards reception on Friday, Feb. 20, in Topeka.

The prestigious award is presented to two graduating Baker students each semester. Each student is then recognized by the Kansas Department of Education. Wright is majoring in elementary education and Geenens is a double major in Spanish and secondary education.

The honor award honors aspiring educators to recognize, recruit and retain the best Kansas teachers for Kansas children.

Haley Epperson, a 2013 Baker graduate, was recognized as a Horizon Award recipient for first-year teaching excellence. She is a fourth-grade teacher at Spring Hill (Kan.) Elementary School.

Pin It on Pinterest